MCM Training- Week Three

15 Jul

Marine Corps Marathon Training Week Three

#MCM2013 training is moving along! I burnt several laps around my neighborhood this week- several as in every mile recorded. The miles were a mix of humid hot and soaking downpour rainy runs.

Sunday: 4 miles in 45:54

Tuesday:4 miles in 44:45

Thursday:4 miles in 43:19 (Super Soaking Downpour Run)

Friday: 4 miles in 46:05

Saturday: 4 miles 45:21

My favorites from the week:

1. I’m in love with the idea behind Chia seeds, but where can I buy them in bulk? I stopped by Sam’s Club over the weekend and left feeling like a freaky health nut! Apparently no one in the store knew what Chia seeds are- I was sent to the garden section while searching the store! Like a ChiaPet….

Image 6

Chia seeds are the best in an apple PB wrap!

2. TJ Maxx has the BEST workout gear! The BEST y’all! They have unusual brands that you can’t pick up from your average sporting goods store! Last week I ran across an MPG tank that was made to match my Mizuno Waves and it has a zip pocket! I’ve never heard of MPGsport gear but this tank has sent me on a mad hunt for seconds!

IMG_2446

Running in style.

2 Responses to “MCM Training- Week Three”

  1. Amy @ Writing While Running July 15, 2013 at 11:14 pm #

    Good luck with your training! I just saw now that you are following the Hanson method. Yay! Jogging Jeano (joggingjeano.blogspot.com) just completed the Anchorage marathon by following the Hanson method religiously. She really kicked butt and came within 5 minutes of her target goal on a really rough (hilly and trail) course. She did a review of the method post-race-check it out! I love reading what the Hansons have to say and I am *almost* convinced by their method, but I love my 2 rest days a week and I like slightly longer long runs than 16 miles (for mental preparation if nothing else). Good luck and I can’t wait to hear how it works for you.

    • SlowLaneRunner July 16, 2013 at 7:33 am #

      Thanks lady! I will check out Jogging Jeano (what a cool name) this morning- I love reading about others success with the program! I am actually losing my second rest day in two weeks, that will be a sad day!!!

Leave a Reply

