MCM2013 Training-Week One

2 Jul

23-29 June 2013- Marine Corps Marathon Training Week One

Screen Shot 2013-07-02 at 7.54.30 PM

Good Evening Folks! Week one is now over and I must say it was EASY! Hope I am saying this in a few more weeks!

About the plan: I am testing out the Hanson Method. The method seems to fit my “slower” pace and work schedule AND no 20+ mile runs! Hello- sign me up! I’m currently reading Hanson Marathon Method–  book review coming someday! Until then you can read about the method here, here, and here. Have you ever trained for a marathon? What method did you use?

MondayWednesday: Nothing real- plan did not kick off until Thursday. I did run a 5k Wednesday morning for my office’s Org Day. I didn’t win, but did win a $50 raffle prize!

Thursday: Three miles complete! Three hot as hell miles- my toes didn’t hit the pavement until 3PM! I know-bright idea!

Screen Shot 2013-06-27 at 4.01.22 PM

Friday: Off Day!

Saturday: Three miles! I met up with a local running group and knocked out the miles early before the rain hit!

See super easy week. Feels like I am playing marathon training hooky, but I know the miles will start racking up soon!

Week One Questions:

Sunscreen- What type of sunscreen do you use while running? I am currently using Coppertone SPORT, but after 20 mins it starts to create yucky looking/feeling white clumps. Do you ever reapply mid run?

3 Responses to “MCM2013 Training-Week One”

  1. olivetorun July 4, 2013 at 7:16 am #

    Easing in a the right way to go! I’m excited you’re training for this! Hopefully I’ll see ya there!

    • SlowLaneRunner July 12, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

      I’m excited about MCM training also! I bet there will be a blogger meet up! Are you doing bRUNch run Saturday morning?

      • olivetorun July 13, 2013 at 11:30 am #

        Uhm… I haven’t heard anything about this! Can you email me the details? olivetorun (at) gmail (dot) com

Leave a Reply

