Did you find our keys?

25 Apr

Dear Mr. Pirate- Did you find our keys?IMG_2090

Funny story from last weekend-yeah I know it is already Thursday [I am really slacking at this whole blogging thing].

Background: Adam and I wanted to go for a short 3 mile run Saturday, so we completed our weekend chores and headed over to the Yorktown Beach. The temp was around 65, so Adam wore shorts and I wore capris (aka pants with a zipper pocket). We stretched, locked the car [Adam kept the car key in his non zipper pocket shorts], and started running.

Yorktown is a great place to run! There are several hills-this is a plus for my flat sea level area! The views are another plus for this local running spot! There are water views, Coast Guard boats and ships, and sailboats. You get it- great place to run!

IMG_2091We run a quick three miles and decide to do a little sightseeing before heading home. I wanted a sip of water before exploring so we stopped by the car just to discover the KEY WAS NOT IN ADAM’S POCKET!!!

Sightseeing is now put on hold and we search our path several times for the key- no luck! Anything useful [cell phones, extra keys, money, water] was either left at home or locked in the car. We ended up catching a cab home for $25 and hoped like hell the apartment complex had an extra key- they did!

Success- we are home-cab paid-door unlocked. Do we have a spare key for the locked car in the house? Nope. No key, so we took my car back to Yorktown just to call AAA to get our things out. The AAA lady was amazing and had the car unlocked in seconds. Guess what we found in the car- the spare key!

Moral of the story- zip your keys up and always call AAA first!

Have you ever lost your keys while running?

PS- If you ever find a solo car key hanging out on the Yorktown Beach let me know 😉

 

2 Responses to “Did you find our keys?”

  1. Shannon April 26, 2013 at 8:40 am #

    Ugh, how annoying! Accidentally locking myself out of the house/car is one of my big running fears, I’m glad it worked out for you guys. At least you had each other to share it with!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. MCM Training- Week Three | Slow.Lane.Runner - July 15, 2013

    […] goods store! Last week I ran across an MPG tank that was made to match my Mizuno Waves and it has a zip pocket! I’ve never heard of MPGsport gear but this tank has sent me on a mad hunt for […]

Leave a Reply

