Back away from the junk food….

21 Apr

22- 27 April 2013 Menu Link-Up

I am struggling to back away from last week’s junk food blow out! I am not buying any sweet or unhealthy treats this week and will be satisfying my sweet tooth with an afternoon yogurt snack. No cookies, chocolate covered pretzels, or mini candy bars!

Monday: We are trying Chobani’s Spicy Salmon Cornmeal Cakes topped with Yogurt Cilantro Sauce. I’m super excited to find a salmon cake recipe that doesn’t include canned salmon.

Tuesday: Spaghetti squash topped with garlic shrimp-if I can find a spaghetti squash. I stopped at two stores and still no spaghetti squash.

Wednesday: I am attempting to recreate Panera’s Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich. This is one of my favorite sandwiches- hope it turns out just like Panera!

IMG_1299

Hope I can recreate this favorite at home!

Thursday: Hamburgers and sweet potato fries. {Not healthy, but tasty}

Friday: Trader Joe’s Fish Tacos! It is one of my favorite quick Friday night treats.

Is it the wrong time of the year for spaghetti squash?

What’s a good side dish for Wednesday’s veggie sandwich?

3 Responses to “Back away from the junk food….”

  1. Amy @ Writing While Running April 21, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    Like most winter squashes, spaghetti squash tends to be most available in the fall and early winter. I have seen it recently at my local supermarket so I know it is available. Be patient and I am sure you will find it soon.

  2. Shannon April 22, 2013 at 11:06 am #

    I find spaghetti squash year round at our Food Lion, though they are starting to appear on the smaller side. Winter is really when you get the best spaghetti squashes.

  3. runningcoastietocoastie April 22, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

    Soup goes well with a veggie sandwich. Or maybe a salad. Or how about some brown rice.

Leave a Reply

