2013 Cherry Blossom 10 Miler

13 Apr

IMG_2010Last weekend we headed to DC for the Cherry Blossom Ten Miler! Our weekend was packed with sight seeing, museums, tasty meals, cupcakes, cherry blossoms, and ten miles!

IMG_2004

IMG_1981IMG_1971

Race Recap

Adam and I woke up early Sunday morning ready for a quick breakfast, shower, and metro ride to the start line. This was our first DC race and really had no clue what to expect. The weather was chilly, so we decided to only allow ourselves 30 mins to get down to the Mall.

DSC02486Waiting on the metro.

DSC02487Beautiful morning!

After enjoying a short metro ride we arrived just in time to see the wheel chair participants take off! We took off shortly behind them with the green wave! Adam stuck with me for the first 3 miles, but we lost each other at the first water stop. I was a little bummed that we didn’t stick together, but it was probably better for his time. My leg started to tighten up a little before the water stop and forced me to walk several times.

DSC02492

The first half of the race was great- great spectators and energy from the other runners. I found the perfect pace setter around mile 5 and stuck with her for about two miles- until my leg said stop! After loosing my pace girl things went down hill! I can’t complain too much, I spotted some wonderful sights and finished the race!

DSC02494

DSC02496

IMG_2012Race Favorite: I loved the race route-it allowed me to run part of my fall 2013 marathon!

Race DisLike: The finish line was very confusing. Water, bananas, and medals were randomly placed in a  field. Maybe I was the only lost one searching for a banana. haha

Finish Time: 2 hours 11 mins. Not my best time, but I will take it since I walked several parts. Next 10 Miler will be under 2!

Did you run the Cherry Blossom Ten Miler? What was your favorite part of the race?

3 Responses to “2013 Cherry Blossom 10 Miler”

  1. michele April 14, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

    I’ve always wanted to run that race. It looks so pretty! I was out of town this year, so I didn’t get the chance to even consider it.

    Maybe next year!

  2. Kim 2S4O April 14, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    I ran Cherry Blossom as well and finished right around the same time! I really liked this course. Is it MCM you are doing there in the fall? I ran that in 2010 and LOVED it!

    • SlowLaneRunner April 15, 2013 at 6:48 am #

      Yep- MCM 2013!!! It will be my first marathon- any pointers?

Leave a Reply

