Tabata Tuesday- Travel Style

19 Mar

As you all know, I am hanging out in Kansas City this week. I have always struggled with travel and maintaining my workout routine.
IMG_1808The food, wine, shopping, and lack of space makes it super difficult for me to stick with the program. My hotel has free snacks and drinks nightly. Hello- sign me up free snacks and drinks! <— My thoughts the first night. Hello- don’t eat that. <— My thoughts the second night! I will be able to resist the goodies after getting a peek into the kitchen and watching the crowds hoard in all the free food. Gross!

Instead of stuffing my face with free cookies and booze, I enjoyed a short Travel Style Tabata workout in my room. The gym offers a workout center, but it is just a treadmill. I covered the floor with two towels and was ready to workout germ free!

IMG_1802Snazzy Room- NOT

Travel Style Workout

1) Jumping Jack: 8 sets of 20 seconds work: 10 seconds rest.

J. Jack is seriously my new best friend. I have tried to include them in at least two workouts per week and I can usually feel the burn the following day. Jumping Jacks were super easy to complete in my room with no space issues.

2) Push-Ups: 8 sets of 20 seconds work: 10 seconds rest.

Push-Ups are not my friend. I try, but girl push ups are not a great Tabata style workout for me. I am not strong enough to achieve a high intense workout.  I’m struggle with finding upper body exercises that improve my strength and endurance. Any pointers?

3) High Knees: 8 sets of 20 seconds work: 10 seconds rest.

High Knees were super easy in a not so snazzy hotel room- no need to touch the ground. Yuck!

4) Planks: 8 sets of 20 seconds work: 10 seconds rest.

Planks were not the best choice since touching the ground was involved, but the towels saved the day! I have recently started to enjoy planks, they are awesome whole body workouts!

How do you workout with traveling? 

Any upper body workouts for weak runner?

One Response to “Tabata Tuesday- Travel Style”

  1. Nerri March 19, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    I love this! I also need some upper body tips – my bf always tells me in like a t-Rex with my wimpy useless arms 😉

Leave a Reply

