Kansas City Here I Come

17 Mar

Hello from Kansas City, MO- my home for the next two weeks! I’m out of my normal routine and visiting KC while completing a two week professional development course. I’m excited to get out and enjoy a few of my long lost Kansas City favorites- I have missed this place!

A few of my KC favorites

Shopping @ The Plaza: KC’s Country Club Plaza is a must see while visiting. High-end (well high-end in my book) shopping, fine dining, holiday traditions, and mid-west history. The outdoor shopping center is home to a few of my favorites: Ann Taylor Loft, Lululemon, Urban Outfitters, H&M, and so many others. The Christmas lights are my favorite Plaza tradition, a tradition that began with a single stand of lights in 1925! Today the lights cover the historic buildings after a massive party flips the switch Thanksgiving night.

Art Gazing @ The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: KC is home to the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. It is easy to spend an afternoon browsing the halls of the museum and lounging on the front lawn. Best of all- IT’S FREE! Exhibits include several collections of African, American, American Indian, and Chinese art just to name a few! The massive lawn birdies are my favorites!

Dining @ Classic Cup Cafe:  My Saturday will include a Sesame Nut Chicken Salad- the BEST salad I have ever consumed! I remember the salad as a mix of greens topped with crispy sesame crusted chicken breast with a light honey mustard vinaigrette. The cafe is super cute restaurant/bar in the middle of the Country Club Plaza.

Leave a Reply

