Tabata Tuesday

12 Mar

Tabata style workouts have been rediscovered! Recently my workouts have included running, running, and more running. Don’t get me wrong I love running, but something needs to change! While trying to find something new the other day I found several high intensity Tabata routines. I’m in love with what I found and Tabata Tuesday (or maybe Thursday) was born!

What is a Tabata workout?

History: According to Wikipedia’s sources, Tabata is a HIIT workout based on a 1996 study by Professor Tabata. The professor’s study involved Olympic speedskaters using 20 second of ultra-intense exercise followed by 10 seconds of rest repeated eight times (4 mins total).  Read more history here.

Benefits: As described by Shape Magazine, one Tabata can increase your aerobic capacity, anaerobic capacity, VO2 max, resting metabolic rate, and can help burn more fat than a traditional 60 min aerobic workout.

The Workout: One Tabata equals four mins or eight rounds of 20 second intense exercise followed by 10 seconds of rest. You can do just one Tabata or several four mins sets in a row.

Tools: I found a super handy Tabata Timer by Garaio Technology Labs in the Apple App Store- for FREE! The timer keeps track of each round while counting down exercise and rest times.

IMG_1719

Awesome App

12 March Tabata Tuesday:

IMG_1756Almost Tabata Time

1. 4 mins- Box Jumps. I know my box is a little low- box jumps scare the poo out of me! I will over come my fear and add a few more risers soon.

2. 4 mins- Side Step Planks

3.  4 mins Knee Highs

4.  4 mins Jumping Jacks aka my new best friend. When was the last time you tried plane ole jumping jacks? Me- probably middle school!

Watch for Tabata updates every Tuesday! If you can’t wait for my Tuesday update check out my Tabata Pinterest board where I will pin any and all information I find on Tabata style workouts.

1000 Meter/5 Min Row Challenge Update: Previous Row Post

IMG_1754

I couldn’t take the pic fast enought-Only 10 seconds off…

QOTD:

Do you include Tabata style workouts into your routines?

What are your favorite Tabata exercises? 

2 Responses to “Tabata Tuesday”

  1. RUNNING BLOGGERS (@runningbloggers) March 14, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

    Have not tried this..love your blog and want to personally invite you to Join the DC Metro Area Running Bloggers.
    http://www.meetup.com/DC-Metro-Area-Running-Bloggers/

  2. michele March 19, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

    I’ve never heard of Tabata. I’m going to have to youtube that!!!

    I have a rowing machine at home now. We used to go to the gym for the rowers, but when we quit, our gift was a rowing machine! I have a love/hate relationship with it. I LOVE what it does, but HATE how hard it makes me work!! It reminds me so much of running when I first started!!!

Leave a Reply

