March 5 by the 5th

3 Mar

virtual-race-series-Jan-to-June-1024x769I am currently participating in Laura’s (aka MommyRunFast) virtual race series where  runners and walkers squeeze in a 5k or 5Miler before the 5th of each month! You can check it out here!

March 5 Miler Recap

Time: 1 hour 3 minutes

Ok- I need to pick up the pace a little. My time was no where close to a PR- but I will take it after last weekend’s Princess Half. The warm  Princess Half temps made todays 41 degrees feel like 22 degree! Maybe I should move to Florida? Sounds like a plan right? 🙂

Where: Mariners Museum’s Noland Trail

photo-15

The Mariners Museum in Newport News offers a challenging 5 mile trail loop with a good mix of flat and hilly walkways. A few details from  the  Mariners’ website: “Following the shoreline of Lake Maury is the five-mile Noland Trail. Dedicated as a gift from the Noland Family in 1991 and with significant ongoing financial support from the Noland Family, the trail has fourteen bridges, picnic areas, benches, handicap access, and mile markers.” 

image-12

Mile 2.5- Halfway There

image-13

5.0 Miles Completed

Who: Point 2 Saturday Running Group

Remember the big move from Richmond to Hampton Roads area? Leaving RVA’s awesome running community made me a little nervous- leaving me to question my commitment to running. Guess what I discovered this morning- NEW RUNNING FRIENDS!!!!! Wooo Hooo!

Socks: Swiftwick

image-14

I have discovered the BEST running socks thanks to 0to26point2 and of course I had them on for my 5 by the 5th run. Swiftwick socks have helped protect my feet from the blisters I was experiencing from my old wool socks (I still love them, but not for running). I have ran the following distances blister free with Swiftwick: 5k, 5miler, 10 miler, and 13.1. Did I mention no blisters?

image-15

Matt, a Swiftwick rep, was at this morning run with a trunk full of Swiftwick socks for us to try. What a lucky day- awesome socks and new running friends-SCORE! I’m so excited to try out my new pair of Swiftwick Twelve sock- a calf compression sock. Quick review coming after my next ten miler!

5 Responses to “March 5 by the 5th”

  1. Katie March 3, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

    Love the Noland Trail! It is actually very close to my dad’s house, so I may get a chance to do a few loops while I am there in a couple of weeks.

    • SlowLaneRunner March 4, 2013 at 10:46 am #

      I feel in love with the trail this weekend and will be going back very soon!

  2. runningcoastietocoastie March 3, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    Just getting out after doing a half is a good accomplishment. Well done!

    I’ve got quite a few friends in your area if you are looking for people to run with.

    • SlowLaneRunner March 4, 2013 at 10:49 am #

      Thanks! I might just take you up on your folks to run with offer once life calms down! Too many vacations (yay!) and work trips at the moment (blah)!
      PS- Love your Princess Pics!

  3. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast March 3, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    Great job!! Yes- the week after a half, you should definitely not worry about time. 🙂 Congrats on your half, too!

Leave a Reply

