2013 Disney Princess Half Recap

28 Feb

Wake-up it is race day…

Sunday morning started out super early- like 2:45 early! Alarms were buzzing a little before 3AM and of course I was already wide-a- wake. Am I the only runner who can’t sleep the night before a big race? My morning rush included taking a quick shower {Yes-I do take a wash off shower before a race} and chowing down on a Panera blueberry bagel  followed by a quick stretch session.

My mom and I were out the door by 3:30AM and little did we know what kind of traffic was ahead. By 4:00AM we were practically parked on the road with 20K other runners waiting to park at Epcot! I tried to keep my cool {race mornings turn me into a crazy lady} by remembering everyone was going to the same location- they can’t start the race with this many people stuck in traffic! The traffic didn’t hold us back for long and we pulled into the parking lot around 4:50AM!

Ready to run…

DSC02451The race entrance was super organized by RunDisney! It was very clear where runners and cheer squad members should go! After a quick picture from one of the Disney photographers my mom and I went our separate ways! I was a little nervous that I would not see her until after the race was long over. This was her first race to watch and I decided not to run with my cell phone, but we had no problems meeting back up!

I began the 10 min walk to the start line after using the bathroom and grabbing a quick picture with _______ {Can someone tell me who she is? I’m so embarrassed that I have no clue which Disney character this is!!!} I made it to corral C with about 15 mins to spare allowing time for a few more stretches before Fairy God mother sent us running across the start line!

DSC02452

Hanging out in my corral before the race!
DSC02459Fireworks at the start line- So neat!

I am not 100% sure what the temperature was, but I do know IT WAS HOT! The max temps for most of my outdoor training runs were no warmer than 55 degrees, so the heat was a big change for me.  The miles still seemed to fly by even with the heat and we hit mile one…mile two…three quickly!

DSC02467DSC02463

DSC02469There were several Disney characters along the 13.1 miles- I only stopped if the line was short. RunDisney also lined the course with water and medical stops about every two miles. The water stops were stocked with blue powerade, water, and super friendly volunteers. I am not sure what was included in the medical tents other than BioFreeze- I never stopped to check it out!

DSC02475Running through the castle was probably one of the best experiences of the race! I have been to Disney several times and never made it into the castle! I was also able to spot my Mom in the cheer squad area in front of the castle- it is alway so exciting to see your fan club cheering along the sidelines!

DSC02476Sorry about the blurry pics…

DSC02477I had to stop for a mile TEN picture- almost there! After passing mile ten the course took runners up an overpass headed back to Epcot! The overpasses were a little difficult- 10 miles and now we are hitting the hills! Blah…

DSC02480Mile ten quickly lead to mile THIRTEEN! Most of the last mile was spent weaving through Epcot and around the ball {does the ball have a name?} and to the finish line! Wooo Hooo!

Times:

5K- 43:10

10K-1:26:02

15K-2:13:04

Finish-3:09:29

Click here to see pictures from RunDisney!

RunDisney’s Princess Half was an awesome experience…

Would I run the Princess Half again: Yes

Would I run another Disney race: Yes- Wine and Dine is on my bucket list

Did you run the Princess Half? What was favorite part of the race?

4 Responses to “2013 Disney Princess Half Recap”

  1. Amy @ Writing While Running February 28, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

    Congrats and what fun! I am sure it would be surreal to go through the castle. And, wow, I would have been so frustrated with the traffic to park!

  2. runnerstrials March 1, 2013 at 10:30 am #

    Congrats on a great race! LOVE all of the character pictures!

  3. Michele March 3, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

    Congrats on the race!! Looks like so much fun!

    LOVE your tutu!!! Super cute!

    I do the same thing, I get up and shower before I race too! I just feel fresher (and it helps wake me up a bit!!!) Pre race I’m a crazy lady too!! I just think it’s nerves, my husband has learned to just ignore the craziness!

    • SlowLaneRunner March 3, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

      Thanks- it was a super fun race! Glad I’m not the only one who showers before a race- it just makes you feel so much better!

Leave a Reply

