Weekend Recap

10 Feb

ImageWe had a lovely weekend! So lovely we [ok I] had to stop for a quick pic of the VA is for Lovers monument!

Weekends are for RUNNING: I always try to squeeze in a run Saturday morning. An almost headache stood in the way of my morning run, but I pushed the boy out the door without me. He completed our usual 3 mile loop in 28 mins- he could run circles around me! I couldn’t let him top me- I went out for a night run after a day of shopping!  My 10:30 pace run included a tour of VCU’s Monroe Park Campus and a few loops around Gen. Robert E. Lee.

Image 1Night Time Run Ready

Weekends are for FOODWarning- I always forget to take pics of my food [lame]. Guess I am too worried about eating to remember pictures.  Friday night included our favorite seats at Kuba Kuba- two bar seats next to the chefs please! Kuba Kuba is my RVA favorite! It’s a must if you ever find yourself in Richmond, VA- I’ve never had anything less than wonderful! Saturday was a soup day for me! Lunch and dinner included Wholefood’s white bean soup! I enjoyed lunch so much I had to bring some home for dinner.

Weekends are for Internet Stalking: While reading all my blog friends stories I discovered Newton Running. The boy and I were intrigued and had to know what was so special! Of course we had to see which shoes were right for us– aka we did hundreds of squats to compare our ankle movement. We decided Adam has a pronated gait and I have a neutral gate [I win].

Weekends are for PACKING: I am moving next weekend [OMG NEXT WEEKEND]- So long Richmond! Not only does my boy pose for Lover pics, he also helps me pack! Not a fun Sunday afternoon, but it has to happen.

Image 2

Ready for the movers.

Weekends are for COMMENTS: Richmond is the reason I have fallen for running- Everyone runs in Richmond and it takes little effort to find a solid running group! How do I find a new running group? Ideas? I have checked out meetup and the local running store- looks somewhat hopeful!

4 Responses to “Weekend Recap”

  1. Michele February 11, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    What a busy weekend!

    I wish I had enough nerve to find a running group! There are lots here, but I can’t bring myself to try them out!

    I absolutely HATE to move!!!!! Where are you moving to? Will you still be in VA?

    • SlowLaneRunner February 14, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

      I have moved like crazy of the past 4 years- the longest I have stayed is 13 months-I’m so ready to stay put for a while! I am moving from Central VA to the Va Peninsula area, so not a big move!

      You should give the running group a try- I have met some of the best people through the different groups!

      • Michele February 14, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

        At least it isn’t far, the closer ones are much easier than long distance!

        I need to come out of my shell, maybe one day.

  2. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast February 14, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

    Good luck with the move! I’ve heard Richmond is a huge running city. Hope you find a new group quickly!

Leave a Reply

