What I Ate Wednesday- 6 Feb 2013

6 Feb

White Sweet Potato Burrito

Ingredients:

  • Large White Sweet Potato- Wish I had a remembered to take a pic. 
  • Chopped Onion
  • Olive Oil
  • Spices: Chili Powder/Cumin/Oregano/Salt
  • Cooked Lentils
  • Chicken Broth
  • Whole Wheat Tortilla
  • Greek Yogurt
  • Topping: Lettuce/cherry tomatoes/salsa

Steps:

1. In a medium skillet, sauté  large sweet potato cut into cubes, chopped onion in 2 tsp olive oil until potato is soft, 10-15 minutes. [I made this for two with a whole white sweet potato and half of a white onion]

Image 2

2. Stir in chili powder, cumin, dried oregano and salt. Add cooked lentils, low-sodium chicken broth and cook 5 minutes. [Ok- I didn’t measure. So just have fun- I’m lame only sprinkled the spices.]

Image

Image 1

3.Warm an 8-inch whole-wheat tortilla and top with 1 tbsp nonfat plain Greek yogurt, sweet potato mixture, shredded lettuce,  and halved grape tomatoes; roll up.

Image 3

4.Serve with 2 tbsp salsa.[I know-It is a little hard on the eyes-but not the taste buds.]

*Please do not think I’m a master chef- I did not create this tasty mix and I really have not clue who to give the credit to- Just enjoy!

Question of the day: This was my first experience with a white sweet potato, and I was super impressed! So impressed I checked other recipes-they sounds so incredibly delish!!

Have you ever tried a white sweet potato dish? If so- any good?  Want to share? 

One Response to “What I Ate Wednesday- 6 Feb 2013”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 23 Weeks Pregnant & a Winner - February 10, 2013

    […] selected no. 86 from the entries:  Amanda at Slow Lane Runner. Amanda, please email Kelly at kelly@newleafwellness.biz for your paper and electronic cookbook […]

Leave a Reply

