28 Day Blog Challenge

5 Feb

14098

Happy Monday- I hope everyone had an awesome weekend! I enjoyed one of my last weekends in Richmond with a local brew from The Hardywood Brewery, a quick run to the river and back for the #5bythe5th virtual run/race series, and Sunday morning church at Area10/Church@TheByrd .

IMG_1327

Church @ The Byrd

I recently discovered a 28 Day Blog Challenge and decided to join in! I am still a newborn blogger and really have no idea how all this works- but I am ready to kick start my own Blog 101! Step 1: Complete the #28DBC. Here are my plans…

1) Update About Me Page: I know-it’s a big white empty space right now! Creating an About Me page is on the top of my blog todo list! I love reading a blogger’s about me page- it really gives life to the blog!

IMG_1276

About Me Sneak Peek

2) Comment on five different blogs: I’m a creeper, I read all your post without leaving any comments. Comments are super important, I really understand this now that I have started my own little bloggy blog.

3)Offer five #FF (follow Friday) suggestions on twitter: So this what all the #FF tweets are all about. Follow me @slowlanerun to see who I #FF this week!

4) Create Google Reader folders for better organization: Hmmm…. What is google reader and how can it help me? I have no clue, but I am going to do a little research and find out! Any must knows about Google Reader folders I should know?

5) Find five local blogs: I hit the jackpot on local blogs last week. I am a #VABlogger- Go ahead click my VA Blogger button!

6) Learn more about social media– A coworker and I just discovered the Canvas Network– free knowledge at your finger tips. I have enrolled in  Social Media, Educational Technology [for work], and I will keep my eyes open for the next Marathon Training course.

QOTD [Question of the Day]:1.Why did you start blogging? 2.How did you help your blog grow? 3.  What would you do different if you had the blog knowledge you mow know on day one?

4 Responses to “28 Day Blog Challenge”

  1. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast February 5, 2013 at 2:50 am #

    I’m doing the 28 day challenge, too! I never commented on blogs before starting my own… for some reason, it felt odd to do so then. But yes, as a blogger, it’s a great way to connect with one another!

    • SlowLaneRunner February 5, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

      I agree! I felt like such a stalker if I left a comment on a blog. Crazy non blogger thoughts 😄

  2. Kara February 5, 2013 at 2:54 am #

    Found you from the 28 Day Challenge.

    I love love love Google Reader. I follow about … oh, I dunno .. 300 blogs? I find that keeping them on Google Reader and categorized in folders makes it easy. I can choose to read or not read based on category. For example, right now I have the following categories: Cooking, Health & Fitness, News, Design & Decor, Funny, Financial, Photography, and Stuff. Some days I’m not in the mood for reading news blogs, so I can just mark that one read and move on. Some days my Design & Decor blog overwhelms me, so I can just skip it. On days I’m feeling fat, I can bypass all the food blogs. 🙂

    If you have a google account, you already have a Google reader account!

    • SlowLaneRunner February 5, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

      Kara- Wow Google Reader is life changing! No more clicking around for updates- they are all in one place! Playing around with Google Reader totally made my day!

Leave a Reply

