Row Machine- My New Gym Fav!

25 Jan

This cold weather is really getting to me -32 degrees all week! Brrr! It might have caused me to skip Wednesday night’s CrossFit class. Have you ever skipped your usual gym time? Me never

Screen Shot 2013-01-23 at 8.53.52 PM

Go to the freaking gym…Lazy…

After an hour of trying to tell myself it was okay-just stay at home, I peeled myself from the couch and went to gym.  Guilt Trip! Luckily the gym was empty and I had my pick of treadmills. I ran a quick two miles (10:08 pace) and decided to try the row machine-My new gym FAVORITE!

Cold Weather=Gym Time

Cold Weather=Gym Time

The Row Machine- 1000 Meter/5 Min Challenge! 

The row machine and I have very little experience other than a few 300 meter CrossFit warmups. After hopping off the ‘mill I spotted the open machine and thought let’s see what this is really all about. Three mins and 300 meters passed and I decided 1000 meters was happening in five mins or less. Results= 1000 Meters/5:48 Min= 1000Meter/5Min Challenge! Someday soon I will row 1000Meter in five mins or less! Ready, Set, Go…

Image 16

Row.Row.Row

Rowing Machine Workouts

Not only do I want to row 1000M/5M, I also want to include the machine into my other workouts.  I will keep my eyes open for new and interesting row related workouts; you can find them all on my Pinterest Board-Check it out Row Row Row!

Others that would not pin to my Row Row Row board:

http://www.shape.com/fitness/cardio/20-minute-total-body-rowing-workout

http://www.shape.com/fitness/workouts/calorie-blasting-rowing-machine-workout

Your turn!

Have you discovered a hidden favorite at the gym? Yes-leave a comment and tell me all about it!

Don’t forget to Follow Me!

2 Responses to “Row Machine- My New Gym Fav!”

  1. Michele February 7, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

    I don’t go to the gym, mostly because we’ve kinda built one in our basement. We have a rowing machine. It’s the one piece of equipment that I use almost every day. It’s hard, but I love every minute of it. I’ve used it consistently for last month and I see a change in my arms and strength. Keep it up, the rowing machine will make you work for it, but you’ll reap the benefits!!!

    My rowing machines name is Killer. So if in my blog I say Killer, that is who I’m talking about.

    • SlowLaneRunner February 10, 2013 at 9:30 am #

      haha- Love your rowing machines name! Killer! Too funny!

Leave a Reply

